Posted by: istop4books | December 5, 2007

November socks? Finished!!!

Finally finished the socks from hell. Actually knitting them was a breeze, untangling the skeins of prewound yarn took longer than the knitting itself! – But I’m done and

november-socks-002.jpg

 

they look and feel great. I used Schachenmayr nomotta Regia Color 4-ply, I needed 2 skeins (918 yards) and had very little left over. The yarn is a bamboo, merino, viscose mix and I didn’t think I’d like the feel of it, but they are very comfy.

Aside from finishing the socks, currently working on Zach’s hoodie from The Purl Stitch. Have front and back done and half a sleeve. I better get crackin’ if he’s going to wear it this winter!

My current reads are Sense and Sensibility, which I like but I don’t love, nor do I understand all the hoopla surrounding Jane Austen, but it’s OK so far, and Sightseeing, which is a collection of short stories written by a young author who was born in Chicago but moved to Thailand as a baby, and is of Thai ancestry. His stories are amazing and very easy to read. I was in Thailand two years ago and loved the country, the people and the food. A few of his stories touch on the tourists who flock to Thailand, perhaps in less than complimentary tone, but so far I am absorbed in his ability to be touching in 20 pages, to make me care about the characters in such a short amount of time.

Sightseeing by Rattawut Lapcharoensap

Leave a Reply

Categories

