Posted by: istop4books | January 27, 2008

Too many projects, not enough time

The Yacoubian Building by Alaa Al AswanyCurrent read: The Yacoubian Building by Alaa Al Aswany. This book was recommended to me by a fellow bookcrosser and it is turning out to be a great read. It’s basically a look into the lives of the residents of the Yacoubian building in Cairo, Egypt. It was an international bestseller in the Middle East and Europe a couple of years ago, and widely ignored here in the States. Other reads currently hanging out on nightstands and coffee tables: the last 2 Acts of Hamlet, which I’m bound and determined to finish – I read the first 3 Acts for bookclub, because the women had the lofty idea of reading this in two parts and I had the insane idea of moderating. Well, of course I got to club and only one other person had read the 3 Acts – so it was tabled for next month (and I won’t be there). Oh well. I still want to finish it. The other one I’m reading is Les Miserables – for bookcrossing readalong. It’s a wonderful, readable book and if I can quit knitting for a couple of hours, I can get myself up to date!

I currently have 4 projects on the needles. My favorite is a lovely scarf made out of Araucania Aysen wool/mohair mix, handpainted yarn. I’m using the cross stitch pattern which is a lot of fun to work on, but a bit of a slow go. The yarn is very soft and just gorgeous once knit up. I bought enough for a scarf and maybe a hat or gloves.

Araucania Aysen

Also working on a sweater out of the Simply Shetland book, but it’s a hybrid of two patterns. Also using Araucania yarn, this time Nature Wool in a blue/gray colorway.january-2008-043.jpg

Last and definitely least, my socks:. january-2008-045.jpg Noro Kureyon sock yarn. So far, I’m not impressed with the yarn. It’s still on the needles and doesn’t seem to have any memory. It gets hair thin and then almost worsted weight almost in the same row, and it tangles. Not my favorite and I don’t think I’d ever buy it (this came to me through sock club) on my own. I’m going to finish one sock, wash it and see if it really does soften before making sock number 2. You can clearly see a bump and almost a hole in the heel of this sock, and that’s just the difference in yarn weight within the skein. I don’t know if I’ll even finish sock number 1.

Responses

  1. I used the Araucania yarn for the sweater I made for my mom:
    http://milmom.wordpress.com/2008/01/23/currently-working-on/the-sweater-i-made-for-my-mom/
    I loved knitting with it, and the finished project is so soft and a delight to wear (I had to wear it to work to show it off).

  2. Thanks for taking the time to view the blog. I checked out your sweater and loved it! Araucania is a great yarn and the colorways are amazing., Unfortunately, I walked into another yarn store and found this Araucania Aysen yarn, hand painted and gorgeous and just had to have a scarf made out of it, and so that’s what I’ve been working on the last couple of days. I haven’t taken time to read or do much else for the sheer joy of working iwth this yarn!

  3. Sounds like a great read!


Leave a Reply

Categories

