Posted by: istop4books | January 15, 2009

A Way Overdue Update – I knit, I read, I traveled

So much has ocurred since last May.  My Mom passed.  She was 88 years old, had only been really sick for a couple of weeks, and died with my brother at her side.  When it’s your time, there must be nothing better than leaving this world in the arms of someone you love.  At the time, my oldest son was in Cambodia, my husband in Patagonia, my middle son in Ecuador, and my youngest son’s passport had expired.  I left by myself, on a very long and lonely flight and spent some time in Chile, where my mom had lived for the past 38 years.

During the summer, my reading lagged, my knitting sat unfinished and unloved — but, I’m back.  I’m back to knitting up a storm and reading like crazy.  Good stuff, fun stuff, deep stuff. Long involved projects, and others short and sweet.

Of the 58 books I’ve read so far this year, here are the ones that stand out as memorable:

  • Bitter Grounds by Sandra Benitez
  • Confieso que He Vivido by Pablo Neruda
  • Madame de Treymes by Edith Wharton
  • Dr. Jekyll and My Hyde by R. L . Stevenson
  • Children of Strangers by Lyle Saxon
  • Three Cups of Tea by Greg Mortenson
  • The Professor by Charlotte Bronte
  • The Geographer’s Library by Jon Fasman
  • The Girl at the Lion D’Or by Sebastian Faulks
  • Tales of a Female Nomad by Rita Golden Gelman
  • The Blind Assassin by Margaret Atwood
  • The House Gun by Nadine Gordimer

So that’s what I’ve been reading.  I’ll have to update the knitting later.

Leave a Reply

Categories

