Posted by: istop4books | March 29, 2009

I Capture the Castle, Dodie Smith

I Capture the Castle I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith

My review


rating: 5 of 5 stars
Totally delightful, refreshing story, reminiscent of a modern Jane Austen – insightful tale of a family, impoverished and living in a dilapidated castle in England. The 2 young sisters wonder if they will ever find men in their sorry state of living. Their furniture has been sold off, there is barely enough to eat, no electricity and no money available for even the bare necessities. Told in the form of a journal from the youngest daughter, Cassandra’s, point of view – it is thoughtful without being precocious, romantic without silliness – but it brought back so many forgotten feelings I had as a young girl – that apparently I had never read about in all these years. I totally enjoyed reading this book, stayed up late and woke up early to finish it.

View all my reviews.

Leave a Reply

Categories

