Posted by: istop4books | August 14, 2009

The Last Madam

The Last Madam: A Life in the New Orleans Underworld The Last Madam: A Life in the New Orleans Underworld by Christine Wiltz

My rating: 3 of 5 stars
I don’t have a whole lot to say about this book. It’s the biography of Norma Patterson, one of the most famous Madams of New Orleans. She started out as a hooker at age 14 and before she was 20, she had opened her own place. She was gritty, street savvy, a bit of a celebrity around town, and a very lonely woman.

My issue with this particular book is the writing. The author goes from pages upon pages of facts, dates and names – mostly of cops, thugs, city officials, payouts, dirty money and the such – to choppy narratives. On top of that, there were at least 6 instances of pages being out of order, so as I got to the end of a page and the end of a sentence, I turned the page to find myself in the middle of a paragraph from a different chapter. I have no idea how that happened but it was irritating.

In the end I felt like a somewhat knew Norma, but not her 5 husbands, I knew a little about a lot of her “girls” but not enough about any one of them. The book had funny vignettes, but it needed a bit more focus and a savvy editor.

View all my reviews >>

Leave a Reply

Categories

