Posted by: istop4books | June 26, 2010

Reaching to Heaven by James Van Praagh


I had just written a very witty and thoughtful review when I pressed something or other and lost it. Here’s the less witty and fairly quick version of what I remember writing…

I’ve been thinking of death lately. My own death to be exact. Not so much in a morbid way, but more in a curious way. When will it happen? Will it hurt? What comes next? Who will go through my things? Will my house be a mess? Is there a heaven?

So picking up this book which had been lingering on my shelves, I thought I might get some answers. I read it with an open mind and found plenty of thoughts to chew on. No definitive answers, but a lot of ideas that don’t sound absolutely nutty either. He speaks of love as being the be all in this life and the next, of figuring out why were here (not to collect money or power), of how we are born and how the death process works. He gives plenty of examples of people he’s read and their experiences. (I’d love to have a reading sometime).

Where he lost me was with some of the examples of what to expect after we cross over. For ex. We will be able to build a mansion in the sky, our choice oceanfront or perhaps mountainside cabin; and we can contact an architect to help us build it. OK – right there I draw the line. It just smacks of earthly materialism, and I don’t know, it just sounds goofy. Buildings made of marble and other earth-like items all seem to just be a human idea, limited to what we know and see around us.

But all in all, I liked the book. It was well written and gave me a lot of food for thought, and that’s all I can ask for in a book.

Responses

  1. Somehow I expect Heaven to be sort of a wikipedia where I finally find out – what did happen to Roanoke Colony? It was Shakespeare writing those plays, wasn’t it? etc.


Leave a Reply

Categories

